STATE OF MINNESOTA IN SUPREME COURT ADM10-8051

OFFICE OF APPELLATE COURTS NOV 242010 FILED

ORDER ESTABLISHING CIVIL JUSTICE REFORM TASK FORCE

In 2009, the Chief Justice convened the Civil Justice Forum as a collaborative effort of civil justice partners to examine civil case processing statutes, court rules and practices in an effort to identify proposed changes aimed at facilitating more cost effective and efficient civil case processing. The Civil Justice Forum identified and ranked several initiatives and requested that an advisory body be appointed to conduct a more in-depth review of the civil justice system and the impact of any initiatives on litigants and civil case processing. The Court is fully advised in the premises.

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED:

1. The Civil Justice Reform Task Force is established to review the Civil Justice Forum Report and civil justice reform initiatives undertaken in other jurisdictions and recommend to the court changes that will facilitate more cost effective and efficient civil case processing.

2. The Honorable Louise Bjorkman, Minnesota Court of Appeals Judge, is appointed as chair of the Task Force.

3. The Honorable Christopher Dietzen, Minnesota Supreme Court Justice, is appointed as Supreme Court liaison to the Task Force.

4. The following persons are appointed as members of the Task Force:

Honorable Jerome Abrams, First Judicial District Court Judge Honorable Robert Awsumb, Second Judicial District Court Judge Jeanette Bazis, Minnesota State Bar Association Kathryn Bergstrom, Gray Plant Mooty Gregory Bulinski, Bassford Remele James Carey, Minnesota Association for Justice Professor Brad Clary, University of Minnesota School of Law Sue Dosal, Minnesota State Court Administrator Dyan Ebert, Minnesota State Bar Association Meredith Erickson, Minnesota County Attorneys Association Katherine Flom, Civil Rules Advisory Committee Member Ernest Grumbles, Merchant & Gould Mark Hallberg, American Board of Trial Advocates David Herr, Civil Rules Advisory Committee Reporter Daniel Heuel, O'Brien & Wolf Honorable Eric Hylden, Sixth Judicial District Court Judge Anna Lamb, Fourth Judicial District Civil Division Honorable Susan Miles, Tenth Judicial District Court Judge Thomas Marshall, Minnesota Defense Lawyers Association Jessie Nicolson, Southern Minnesota Regional Legal Services Richard Pemberton, Pemberton, Sorlie, Rufer & Kershner Douglas R. Peterson, Leonard, Street & Deinard Tim Pramas, Super Valu Inc. Honorable Denise Reilly, Fourth Judicial District Court Judge Susan Segal, Minneapolis City Attorney Christopher Shaheen, U.S. Bank Corporation Clay Taylor, Minnesota State Bar Association

5. The Task Force shall make its final report to the Court on or before

December 31, 2011.

Dated: November 24, 2010

BY THE COURT:

Appin alder

Lórie S. Gildea Chief Justice